Reckless Driving Attorney In FL: What To Expect From A Second Reckless Driving Charge As A Repeat Offender
Drivers who have been charged with Reckless Driving for a second time face even more challenges than those charged for the first time. If you have been charged with Reckless Driving for a second time you are considered a repeat offender, which automatically puts you in a bad light with the police and courts, even if the second charge has not yet been proven. You’ll also face harsher penalties and will need to mount a strong defense to get the best outcome possible.
Minimum Penalties For Second Time Reckless Driving Charges
A second charge of Reckless Driving is a Second Degree Misdemeanor in Florida. As you can expect, a second charge comes with even stiffer penalties than the first charge. Habitual offenders are considered a menace to public safety and are dealt with more severely.
A second Reckless Driving charge puts you at risk for:
- Up to 6 months of jail time.
- Loss of your driver’s license for a period of time (probation).
- Fines between $50 and $1,000 or higher depending on the circumstances.
- 8 points added to your Florida driving record, if convicted.
If you have damaged property or injured someone for either the first or second time, you can expect your penalties to be even more severe. Felony charges, increased jail time, and higher fines are certain to accompany Reckless Driving with property damage or injuries.
A third Reckless Driving charge within 12 months can result in permanent loss of your driver’s license.
Regardless of whether this is your first or second Reckless Driving charge, the repercussions extend beyond legal fines and penalties. Convictions can also impact your insurance rates or even your ability to obtain auto insurance and you may be required to attend traffic safety school as a condition of keeping your license. A conviction will also show up on any future background checks and you’ll have to check the “Yes” box every time you’re asked if you’ve ever been convicted of a crime.
Beat Reckless Driving Charges With Help From An Experienced Reckless Driving Attorney In FL
Reckless Driving charges can be beat with an experienced reckless driving attorney in FL on your side. A Reckless Driving or habitual traffic offender lawyer in FL can help you can fight the charges and regain some control of your life. There are several lines of defense that can be employed to reduce the charges against you and obtain a favorable outcome.
Call the law offices of Skubiak & Rivas at 407-894-4449 to speak to a reckless driving lawyer in FL today. The initial consultation is always free and will give you a good idea of the options available to you.