A Reckless Driving Lawyer In FL Explains What To Expect On Your First Reckless Driving Charge
Reckless Driving is classified as a criminal defense in Florida. Florida State Statutes define Reckless Driving, as “Any person who drives any vehicle in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of reckless driving.” Reckless Driving is one of the most serious offenses you can have on your driving record, second only to DUIs.
Minimum Penalties For First Time Reckless Driving Charges
The penalties for a Reckless Driving conviction are long lasting and severe. If you have been charged with Reckless Driving you may face any or all of the following:
- Up to 90 days of jail time.
- Loss of your driver’s license for a period of time (probation).
- Fines between $25 and $500.
- 4 points added to your Florida driving record, if convicted.
If you are charged with Reckless Driving and damaged property or caused injuries, the stakes are even higher.
Reckless Driving with property damage can result in:
- A 1st degree misdemeanor charge.
- Up to 1 year in jail.
- Up to a $1,000 fine.
Reckless Driving that causes injury to another person can result in:
- A 3rd degree felony charge.
- Up to 15 years in jail.
- Up to a $10,000 fine.
Protect Your Future With Help From A Reckless Driving Attorney In FL
Reckless Driving is a serious offense that should not be taken lightly. A conviction has the ability to put you behind bars, cost hundreds or thousands of dollars in fines, and remain on your permanent record, affecting your life for years to come. But a charge is not a conviction. A skilled criminal defense lawyer will be able to explore all of your legal options, examine the validity of the charges, and even negotiate a lesser charge in many cases.
Reckless Driving charges are highly subjective and there are any number of circumstances that could contribute to such a charge…or have a charge thrown out entirely. Reckless Driving charges must have facts and evidence to stick. At Skubiak & Rivas, we will use our 30 years of combined experience to explore every charge made against you and use every defense possible to reduce your penalties.
Don’t risk your life and your freedom. Contact a reckless driving attorney in FL at Skubiak & Rivas for a free initial consultation. Call 407-894-4449 today.