TRUST US WITH YOUR NVDL
Driving without a valid driver’s license is a criminal offense under Florida State Statute 322.03. A charge of No Valid Driver’s License (NVDL) includes fines of up to $500 and as many as 60 days in jail. The charge is different from the more serious Driving While License is Suspended (DWLS), but is still a very serious charge, especially for those who do not have a criminal record.
A criminal defense attorney from Skubiak & Rivas Traffic Law Firm can help you understand the charges against you and explain your legal defense options.
What Constitutes NVDL
There are several things that can make a license invalid and result in No Value Driver’s License (NVDL) charges.
- Having no driver’s license whatsoever.
- Having a suspended or revoked license (in some cases, the officer may choose to charge you with NVDL instead of DWLS).
- Having an expired or cancelled license.
Understand Your “Notice to Appear”
It’s very common for drivers to receive citations with a “notice to appear”. This is not a request to appear and be given a chance to argue your case. It means that you were arrested, charged with the second-degree misdemeanor, and released on your own recognizance.
It is possible to clear your record even after receiving a “notice to appear” citation. The criminal defense attorneys at Skubiak & Rivas are often able to negotiate the charge down to a moving civil traffic infraction, which is a far less serious charge, or even have the case dismissed.
Skubiak & Rivas’ Traffic Law Attorneys Are Here to Help
There are several defenses to NVDL but it is very important to retain the services of a Florida traffic law attorney in order to secure the best outcome possible. The criminal defense lawyers at Skubiak & Rivas Traffic Law Firm in Orlando can help you keep your record clean. What you think is a minor charge may not look like it to a future employer or landlord. Don’t risk your future.
We have 60 years of combined experience and have seen thousands of cases and we can help you with your No Valid Driver’s License charge.
Contact us at 407-894-4449 for a free consultation.